DOE awards $9.5 million to support clean energy innovation, commercialization

June 17, 2021
By: Connor LaVelle

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced that 10 accelerators and incubators across the country have been awarded $9.5 million in total funding through the Energy Program for Innovation Clusters (EPIC) to help develop pipelines for energy technology to reach the market. Created by the DOE’s Office of Technology Transitions, the EPIC funding program aims to encourage the growth of regional energy innovation ecosystems across the U.S. and supports new business formation. This announcement marks the second round of funding through the EPIC program, with the first awarding $500,000 each to 20 incubators and accelerators in October of 2020 to support energy innovation ecosystems and stimulate energy hardware development in regions across the country.

The recipients of this round of EPIC funding, along with the total amount awarded, are:

  • Los Angeles Clean Tech Incubator (Los Angeles, CA): $1,000,000
  • New Energy Nexus (New York, NY): $992,970
  • Clean Energy Trust (Chicago, IL): $909,411
  • Regents of New Mexico State University (Las Cruces, NM): $1,000,000
  • Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY): $750,000
  • United States Research Impact Alliance (Morgantown, WV): $1,000,000
  • Launch Alaska (Anchorage, AK): $882,999
  • Colorado State University (Fort Collins, CO): $1,000,000
  • E4 Carolinas, Inc. (Charlotte, NC): $999,704
  • VertueLab (Portland, OR): $999,613

The Department of Energy’s full press release may be found here.

doe, awards, clean energy, commercialization