• Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

National Medal of Science & National Medal of Technology Winners Announced

May 09, 1997

The recipients of the 1997 National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology were announced last week. The awards are described as the United States' equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

Established in 1959, the National Medal of Science is the nation's highest scientific honor. It is given to individuals who deserve "special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." Created in 1980, the National Medal of Technology is the highest honor given by the President to America's leading innovators. It recognizes technological innovation and advancement of U.S. global competitiveness.

The nine National Medal of Science recipients and five National Medal of Technology recipients will be recognized at a White House ceremony later this year.

  • James D. Watson, Cold Harbor Laboratory
  • William K. Estes, Harvard University
  • Darleane C. Hoffman, University of California- Berkeley
  • Harold S. Johnston, University of California- Berkeley
  • Marshall N. Rosenbluth, University of California- San Diego
  • Martin Schwarzchild, Princeton University (Posthumously)
  • Robert Weinberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • George W. Wetherill, Carnegie Institution of Washington
  • Shing-Tung Yau, Harvard University

  • Robert S. Ledley, Georgetown University
  • Norman R. Augustine, Lockheed Martin
  • Team of Vinton Cray Cerf, MCI, and
  • Robert E. Kahn, Corporation for National Research Initiatives
  • Ray Dolby, Dolby Laboratories, Inc.

Nomination packets and eligibility requirements for the 1998 National Medal of Technology are now available. Nominations must be submitted by September 30, 1997. Interested individuals can contact the Program Director by phone at (202) 482-5572 or e-mail at NMT@mail.ta.doc.gov