• SSTI poll shows overwhelming support for innovation platform

    More than 90 percent of the electorate support expanded efforts to strengthen the key elements of a knowledge-driven economy. Members can sign up for a webinar on how the poll can inform your communications.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • A directory of responses to the coronavirus pandemic.

    SSTI is cultivating this directory of federal, private and state actions and resources broadly affecting tech-based economic development efforts.

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

NIST, OSTP Nominations Announced

September 19, 1997

President Clinton intends to nominate Ray Kammer to become the next director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and Duncan Moore as the Associate Director for Technology in the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). Both appointments must be confirmed by the Senate.

Kammer has served as the deputy director of NIST from 1980 to 1991 and from 1993 to the present. From 1991 to 1993 he was the Department of Commerce's Deputy Under Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere. Most recently Kammer has been serving on an acting basis as chief financial officer, assistant secretary for administration and chief information officer for the Department of Commerce.

The post of NIST director has been vacant since Arati Prabhakar resigned in the spring to take a private sector position.

Moore is the Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Rochester. A physicist by training with a specialization in optics, he also has experience in technology policy including serving as a congressional science and engineering fellow to Sen. Jay Rockefeller. Moore also has served as chairman of the Hubble Telescope Independent Optical Review Panel, and is President and founder of the Gradient Lens Corporation.

The position of Associate Director for Technology at OSTP was held by Lionel Johns until his retirement last November. John's deputy, Henry Kelly, has held the position on an acting basis in the interim.