• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

People in the News

August 14, 1998

Before leaving for its August recess, the Senate confirmed Neal Lane to be Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy and Bill Richardson to be Secretary of Energy.

On July 31, Lane was unanimously confirmed as OSTP Director, taking over the vacancy left when John Gibbons retired. According to the White House press release on Lane's confirmation, "Dr. Lane also serves as Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and is responsible for providing the President with advice in all areas of science and technology policy and works to coordinate science, space, and technology policy and programs across the federal government. The Director also co-chairs the President's Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology and serves on the National Science and Technology Council."

Lane has served as Director of NSF since 1993. Prior to that, Lane was Provost of, and physics professor at, Rice University. He was also Chancellor of the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs from 1984 to 1986, and Director of NSF's Division of Physics from 1979 to 1980. Lane is a member of the American Association of Physics Teachers and a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and has served on the American Institute of Physics Governing Board.

Richardson, previously the Ambassador to the United Nations, was also confirmed on July 31 to replace Federico Pena as Secretary of Energy.