• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

Presidential Early Career Award Winners Selected

November 07, 1997

Sixty young researchers have been selected for the second annual Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their careers.

The awards recognize young scholars, their research contributions, their promise, and their commitment to broader societal goals.

In all, 10 government agencies join together annually to nominate promising scientists and engineers for the awards. Those selected receive up to $500,000 over a five-year period to further their research and broadly advance science for important government missions.

The supporting federal agencies are: the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Energy, Health and Human Services, and Veterans Affairs; the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the National Science Foundation.

Award recipients came from 25 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The researchers were from the following states (multiple award winners are in parentheses):

Alabama (2), California (6), Colorado (2), Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia (2), Florida, Georgia (2), Illinois (3), Indiana, Kansas, Maryland (8), Massachusetts, Michigan (3), Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York (7), North Carolina (3), Ohio (2), Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee (3), Texas (2), Washington (2), and Wisconsin.

A complete list of awardees can be obtained by contacting SSTI at 614/421-SSTI (7784).