• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

SBA awards up to $3 million in FAST funding to 24 organizations

September 24, 2020

The U.S. Small Business Administration announced 24 organizations as recipients of the 2020 Federal and State Technology partnership (FAST) program grant awards. The awards of up to $125,000 focus on “specialized training, mentoring, and technical assistance for R&D-focused small businesses.” The FAST program grants one-year funding to organizations that work to partner with other in-state groups.

SSTI's Innovation Advocacy Council has encouraged Congress to expand FAST funding for FY 2021. The House's budget included an increase to $4 million, and the Senate has not yet presented its budget proposal. To learn more, contact Jason Rittenberg (rittenberg@ssti.org).

SSTI member organizations awarded 2020 FAST Partnership Program funding include: the Hawaii Technology Development Corporation, University of Illinois, Maryland Technology Development Corporation, Arrowhead Center at New Mexico State University, University of Oklahoma, VertueLab, Ben Franklin Technology Partners, TechConnect West Virginia, and the University of Wyoming. The full list of 2020 awardees is available below.

2020 Federal and State Technology partnership (FAST) program awardees

  • Arrowhead Center at New Mexico State University
  • Ben Franklin Technology Partners Corporation – Pennsylvania
  • Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois
  • Center for Innovative Technology (CIT) – Virginia
  • Connecticut Innovations, Inc.
  • First Flight Venture Center, Inc. – North Carolina
  • Hawaii Technology Development Corporation (HTDC)
  • Innovate Mississippi
  • Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO)
  • Minnesota Technology Association
  • Montana State University
  • Nebraska Business Development Center, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • Ohio Aerospace Institute
  • TechConnect West Virginia
  • The Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade
  • The University of Oklahoma Tom Love Innovation Hub
  • The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • University of Delaware
  • University of New Hampshire
  • University of South Carolina
  • University of Wyoming Small Business Development Center
  • VertueLab – Oregon
  • Wichita State University – Kansas
sba, FAST, awards, funding