• Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

Senate Creates Manufacturing and Competitiveness Subcommittee

February 21, 1997

The U.S. Senate's Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation has established a new subcommittee to focus on manufacturing and competitiveness issues. Spencer Abraham (R-MI) will chair the Manufacturing and Competitiveness Subcommittee.

Joining Abraham on the subcommittee are: Olympia Snowe (R-ME), John Ashcroft (R-MO), Bill Frist (R-TN), Sam Brownback (R-KS), Richard Bryan (D-NV), Ernest Hollings (D-SC), Byron Dorgan (D-ND), and Jay Rockefeller (D-WV).

The membership of the subcommittee has a large degree of overlap with the Science, Technology, and Space Subcommittee, which is chaired by Frist. Five of the nine members of the Science, Technology, and Space Subcommittee are on the Manufacturing and Competitiveness Subcommittee (Frist, Abraham, Rockefeller, Bryan, and Dorgan). The remaining four members are: Conrad Burns (R-MT), Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), Ted Stevens (R-AK), and John Kerry (D-MA).