• Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

Young Scientists Honored

December 20, 1996

The first recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers were announced earlier this week. The 60 winners will receive up to $500,000 over a five year period to further their research.

"The Presidential Awards are intended to recognize some of the finest scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the 21st century. The Awards will foster innovative and far-reaching developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the nation's future," according to the National Science and Technology Council.

Awards follow recommendations from the nine participating federal agencies (National Science Foundation, NASA, EPA, Department of Veterans' Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Energy, Department of Defense, Department of Agriculture, and Department of Commerce).

Each agency follows its own selection process, although awardees are typically drawn from one of two pools: 1) applicants to early career development or other grant programs in the agency, or 2) staff members.

Awardees came from 27 states. Awardees' home states and the number of awardees in the state are: California (10); Maryland and New York (6 each); Massachusetts (5); Florida and Tennessee (4 each); Connecticut, Michigan, New Jersey, and Orgeon (2 each); and, Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Utah, Washington, and Wisconsin (1 each).

A description of the program can be found on the web at http://www.nsf.gov/crossdir/carawd/ start.htm A complete list of awardees can be obtained by contacting SSTI at 614/421-SSTI (7784).