• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

NSF Selects 13 Materials Centers

October 11, 1996

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has selected 13 new Materials Research Science and Engineering Centers, bringing the total number of centers to 24. NSF support for the new centers is expected to amount to $105 million over the next five year years. The centers are university-based programs that support interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary materials research and education.

The new centers are located at the following universities:

  • Arizona State University
  • Brown University
  • University of California- Santa Barbara
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Cornell University
  • University of Houston
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • University of Maryland- College Park
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • State University of New York- Stony Brook
  • University of Wisconsin- Madison
  • A partnership of SUNY-Stony Brook; Polytechnic Univeristy; and City University of New York

They join centers at the following universities: University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa; University of California- San Diego; University of Chicago; Harvard University; University of Massachusetts- Amherst; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Michigan State University; Princeton University; Purdue University; and, Stanford University (2).

With the new centers, the following states have centers: Alabama, Arizona, California (4), Illinois (2), Indiana, Maryland (2), Massachusetts (3), Michigan, New Jersey, New York (3), Pennsylvania (2), Rhode Island, Texas, and Wisconsin.

The new awards are for up to five years with competitive review at the fourth year and every four years thereafter. The next competition is set for FY98.