• Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

TBED People

September 03, 2008
  • Tony Armstrong, Indiana University executive director for engagement, has been chosen as the Indiana University Research and Technology Corporations new president and CEO.
  • Jeff Costantine will retire this fiscal year as president of the Nashville Technology Council. The board of directors has begun the search for a new president.
  • Joseph G. Danek stepped down as executive director of the EPSCoR/IDeA Foundation. He will continue work at the foundation as its senior advisor and will also remain senior vice president of the Implementation Group, a Washington consulting firm. James B. Hoehn, a senior associate at the foundation, became its executive director. 
  • Monica Doss, the longtime president of the Council for Entrepreneurial Development who stepped down earlier this year, has been named director of the Kauffman Foundation FastTrac program.
  • Mike Edwards, former assistant vice president and director of the Office of Research at the University of Notre Dame, has been named associate vice president for research in the Office of Research and Technology Management at Case Western Reserve University.
  • Liam E. Leightley has been tapped as the new executive director of the Institute for Advanced Learning and Research.
  • Governor Janet Napolitano announced several staff changes August 12, including director of commerce Jan Lesher will become the governor's new chief of staff and Marco Lopez, Jr. will replace Lesher at the Department of Commerce.
  • C. Peter Magrath, a veteran higher-education leader and president emeritus of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, has been named interim president of West Virginia University.
  • James Marshall, a retired senior counsel with the 3M Co., has been named director for the Purdue Technology Center for Southeast Indiana.
  • Dennis M. Mullen has been nominated to be the new upstate president of the Empire State Development Corporation.
  • Steven Roth and Karen Olson have been named entrepreneurs-in-residence at the Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business.
  • George Schoenhofer is the new director, research and policy analysis for Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation Council.
  • Harold Strong, the director of Research Park at Texas A&M University, will join the University of North Texas as the director of its research park.
  • Chung-Jui Tsai, a biofuels expert, has joined the University of Georgia as a Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar.
  • William Vaughan will become the director of technology transfer at the Colorado School of Mines.
International, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, New York