Three Cities Receive NSF Urban Systemic Initiative Awards

June 14, 1996

Milwaukee, St. Louis, and San Diego were named to receive a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant for developing system-wide reforms in K-12 science, mathematics, and technology education. The awards are part of NSF's Urban Systemic Initiative. The initiative supports science, math, and technology education reform in cities with the largest number of school-aged children living in poverty.

Each city will receive a five-year, $15 million grant for system-wide reform. Twenty-seven cities have received NSF urban reform grants since 1993. Nine cities received USI funding in 1994. Seven more received funding in 1995. Milwaukee, St. Louis, and San Diego are the first cities chosen to receive funding in 1996.