• SSTI's 2017 Annual Conference - Register today!

    Join your innovation economy peers in building bridges for a better future in Washington, DC on Sept. 13-15 while showcasing your impacts for federal officials and legislators.
  • SSTI's 2017 Annual Conference Program

    Looking for conference information? Download the program for SSTI's conference or visit ssticonference.org
  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies. Learn more about membership...
  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

EDA announces funding for coal communities

June 29, 2017

The Economic Development Administration (EDA) announced approximately $30 million in funding for the Assistance to Coal Communities (ACC). As part of the FY 2017 appropriation for the Public Works and Economic Adjustment Assistance (EAA) programs, the ACC will assist communities severely impacted by the declining use of coal through activities and programs that support economic diversification, job creation, capital investment, workforce development, and re-employment opportunities. The program was created pursuant with the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2017.

ACC 2017 funds are designated for communities and regions that can reasonably demonstrate how changes in the coal economy have resulted and/or are anticipated to result in job losses and layoffs in any coal-reliant commercial sector or sectors. There is no pre-defined list of impacted coal communities that are eligible for ACC assistance. Instead, communities must demonstrate eligibility by providing appropriate economic and demographic statistics that document the extent to which contractions in the coal economy have negatively impacted the community or region. 

Eligible entities include, but are not limited to: state and local governments; economic development organizations; nonprofit organizations; state and local workforce agencies; institutions of higher education; job training and adult education providers; and, supportive services and human services providers. Applications are accepted on a continuing basis.