• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!


February 02, 2009


The following information was released by the office of the governor of Virginia:

Governor Timothy M. Kaine today announced appointments to the following boards and commissions:

* denotes reappointment

Medical Advisory Board for the Department of Motor Vehicles

Juan A. Astruc Jr., M.D.* of Glen Allen, partner at the Retina Institute of Virginia;

Parker C. Dooley, M.D. of Accomack County, medical director of Eastern Shore Rural Health System, Inc.;

Anil Kumar, M.D.* of Glen Allen, assistant professor for MCV-VCU Health Systems;

Thomas Pellegrino, M.D.* of Norfolk, associate dean for education at Eastern Virginia Medical School;

John Sheppard, M.D.* of Cape Charles, president of Virginia Eye Consultants.

State Lottery Board

Susan Smith Feaster* of Loudoun County, chairman of the board and CEO of the World Leadership Institute.

Special Advisory Commission on Mandated Health Insurance Benefits

Joyal M. Mulheron of Prince William County, program director of population health for the National Governors Association.

Local Government Advisory Committee to the Chesapeake Bay Executive Council

The Honorable Stephen Mallette of Accomack County, vice chair of the Accomack County Board of Supervisors;

Susan Roltsch of Prince William County, assistant county executive for the County of Prince William.

Vocational Rehabilitation Council for the Blind and Vision Impaired

William Alley of Hanover County, president of MSC Equipment, Inc.;

Patricia M. Beattie* of Alexandria, self-employed public policy consultant;

Melanie Brunson* of Fairfax, executive director of the American Council of the Blind;

Richard Gonzalez of Fairfax, executive director of Astracor;

Richard H. Holley of Accomack County, retired;

John P. Jones of Hanover County, contract manager for military dining at Fort Lee;

Raymond Lee Kenney Jr. of Henrico County, veteran program student advisor for Tec Access;

Martha Macias of Norfolk, vocational rehabilitation counselor for the Virginia Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired;

Hortense S. Macon* of Richmond;

Marianne Moore* of Chesterfield County, instructional specialist on middle and secondary transition for the Virginia Department of Education;

Sherri M. Phillips* of Chesapeake, owner of Massage Therapy.

State Rehabilitation Advisory Council

Gregory M. Coleman of Chesapeake, director of human resources at ICI services, LLC;

Stephanie Colorado of Chesterfield County, social worker for the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center;

P. Daniel DeBoer Jr.* of Chesterfield County, retired;

Charles F. Downs of Waynesboro, retired;

Donna Kay Graff* of Page County;

Brooke Susan Henderson of Chesterfield County, staff attorney for the Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy;

Shannon McManus Jones of Chesterfield County, research associate for the Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Workplace Supports at Virginia Commonwealth University;

Marianne Moore* of Chesterfield County, instructional specialist on middle and secondary transition for the Virginia Department of Education;

Florence Watt* of Hanover County, coordinator of community relations for the Hanover County Community Services Board.

Advisory Board on Child Abuse and Neglect

Thurman O. Echols Jr.* of Henry County, pastor of Moral Hill Baptist Church;

Paulette D. Franklin-Jenkins of Portsmouth, attorney at Eric Moochy and Associates;

Cedric Moore Jr. of Chesterfield County, quality assurance coordinator for Richmond Behavioral Health Authority.

Hemophilia Advisory Board

Dr. B. Gail Macik* of Albermarle County, associate professor of Internal Medicine and Pathology for University Health System.

Board of Social Services

Michelle Larkin of Virginia Beach, marketing and corporate fundraiser for United Way of Hampton Roads;

Barbara Manuel of Bedford County, Spanish interpreter for Roanoke Interpreter Services.

Virginia Recycling Markets Development Council

Jerome Wiley Segovia of Arlington, bilingual community organizer.

Virginia Council on Human Resources

Sabrina C. Johnson, Esquire* of Fredricksburg, associate vice president of human resources at the University of Mary Washington;

The Honorable Charlotte A. Moore of Roanoke County, member of the Roanoke County Board of Supervisors.

Board of the Tourism Train Development Authority

Amy Jo Flick of Pocahontas, team leader of the Pocahontas Exhibition Mine;

Earl W. Griffith* of Jewell Ridge, retired;

Don Harris of Bluefield, mayor of the Town of Bluefield and owner of Graham Jewelry;

The Honorable Phillip P. Puckett* of Tazewell County, member of the Senate of Virginia.

Board of Education

K. Rob Krupicka of Alexandria, technology and media business development professional;

Virginia L. McLaughlin of James City County, dean of the School of Education at the College of William and Mary.

Child Day-Care Council

Elizabeth Dowdy of Roanoke City, vice president of certification and accreditation for IACCEP;

Gail Johnson* of Henrico County, president of Rainbow Station.

Virginia Commercial Spaceflight Authority

Brian Darmody* of Catonsville, Maryland, associate vice president of research and economic development at the University of Maryland;

Jeffrey K. Windland of Ashburn, vice president and assistant treasurer of Orbital Sciences Corporation.

Maryland, Virginia