• SSTI poll shows overwhelming support for innovation platform

    More than 90 percent of the electorate support expanded efforts to strengthen the key elements of a knowledge-driven economy. Members can sign up for a webinar on how the poll can inform your communications.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • A directory of responses to the coronavirus pandemic.

    SSTI is cultivating this directory of federal, private and state actions and resources broadly affecting tech-based economic development efforts.

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

SBA Announces Tibbetts Award Winners

October 10, 1997

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has announced this year's Tibbetts Award winners. The 68 winners represent individuals and organizations that were judged to be models of excellence in technology through participation in or support for the SBIR program.

The companies and individuals were selected based on the economic impact of their technological innovation and their overall business achievements. All 50 states and the District of Columbia had at least one award winner.

The awards, named for Roland Tibbetts who was instrumental in the creation of the SBIR program, were established last year when 67 individuals and companies were recognized. This year's awards will be presented at an October 16 ceremony in Washington, D.C.

A complete list of the award winners can be found on the web at http://www.sbaonline. sba.gov/gopher/SBA-Press-Releases/Current/ pres10.txt or by contacting SSTI at 614/421-SSTI (7784).