• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

TBED People and Organizations

December 10, 2008

Gov. Jim Douglas plans to merge the Vermont Departments of Economic Development and Housing and Community Affairs. Douglas's deputy chief of staff Betsy Bishop was appointed commissioner of the Department of Economic Development. She replaces Mike Quinn, who stepped down after serving six years in the position.

Linda Brander resigns as program manager of the Montana Technology Innovation Partnership Program to begin a new job as the Restoration Coordinator at the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation.

John Collar has been named Executive Director of the Colorado BioScience Association.

The Tech Council of Maryland has announced that chief executive office Julie Conns is resigning her post.

Matt Dugener resigned from the LEAP (Lansing Economic Area Partnership). Denyse Ferguson, Executive Vice President, has agreed to serve as the interim president.

Governor Brad Henry of Oklahoma has been elected chairman of the Southern Growth Policies Board.

Saul Kaplan resigned as the executive director of the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation.

Kelsey Kohler has left her position as executive director of the Watervliet Innovation Center to start the company Digital Certainty, LLC.

Governor-elect Jack Markell nominated Alan Levin to head the Delaware Economic Development Office.

Don Smith will assume the role of President of the Regional Industrial Development Corporation (RIDC) of SWPA in January.

The National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, know as NASILGC, announced that it would become the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities, or APLU, in April.

The Boards of Directors of AeA (formerly the American Electronics Association) and the Information Technology Association of America (ITAA) announced that they have each approved the merger of the two trade associations' memberships and programs. The combined associations will become The Technology Association of America.

California, Colorado, Delaware, Maryland, Michigan, Montana, New York, Oklahoma