• SSTI's 2017 Annual Conference - Register today!

    Join your innovation economy peers in building bridges for a better future in Washington, DC on Sept. 13-15 while showcasing your impacts for federal officials and legislators.
  • SSTI's 2017 Annual Conference Program

    Looking for conference information? Download the program for SSTI's conference or visit ssticonference.org
  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies. Learn more about membership...
  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

SSTI Digest

The latest reporting and analysis on breakthroughs in technology-based economic development research and issues that matter most to you. To receive the SSTI Weekly Digest via email, sign up here.


President Clinton recently announced his intention to nominate Dr. Jane Lubchenco, Distinguished Professor of Zoology at Oregon State University, to the National Science Board, an advisory body to the National Science Foundation. The National Science Board recommends overall national policies for promoting basic research and education in the sciences.


Lionel "Skip" Johns, associate director for technology at the White House's Office of Science and Technology (OSTP), announced he would be leaving his position in October.


Sigfried Hecker, the director of Los Alamos National Laboratory, announced that he is stepping aside in order to participate more closely in scientific collaboration between US and Russian researchers. Hecker has headed Los Alamos since 1986.


Jay F. Honeycutt, the director of NASA's Kennedy Space Center (KSC), has announced his plans to retire from NASA in early 1997. He became director in 1995.


Dr. Robert Schrieffer (Physics, Florida State University and University of Florida), Dr. Kenneth J. Arrow (Economics, Stanford University), Dr. Elsa Garmire (Engineering, Dartmouth College) and Dr. Joan Argetsinger Steitz (Life Sciences, Yale University) were chosen by President Clinton to serve on the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science.

Survey of SSTI Weekly Digest Recipients

Please take a few minutes to complete this form and return it to SSTI. We would like to have responses faxed back to us by November 8, 1996 Fax: 614-421-9123

NGA & DOC's Technology Administration Sign MOU

A Memorandum of Understanding has been entered into between the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technology Administration (TA) and the National Governors' Association (NGA) to develop the U.S. Innovation Partnership (USIP). USIP will be developed to help combine and coordinate state and federal efforts in science and technology and manufacturing extension programs.

11 Governor's Seats Up for Election

While most of the attention has been focused on the presidential election and the fight for control of the Congress, eleven states will also be electing governors on November 5. Four of those races are for open seats where the governor has either decided not to seek reelection or is prohibited from running again.

The states with gubernatorial elections are:

SSTI to Study How Tech Investments Can Benefit Distressed Areas

SSTI has entered into a cooperative agreement with the Economic Development Administration to examine how state investments in science and technology can support development in distressed areas. The project includes:

FY96 Earmarks for University Research

The Chronicle of Higher Education recently released its annual report on funding for university projects that Congress specifically directed federal agencies to support. According to the Chronicle, nearly $299 million was earmarked in FY96 for higher education activities. The FY96 level of earmarks was a significant decrease from the $600 million identified in FY95.

Texas Creates S&T Council

Last month, Governor George W. Bush issued an Executive Order that created the Texas Science and Technology Council. The mission of the 21 member board is to "research, develop, and report to the Governor the means available to the State of Texas to become the national leader in science and technology cooperation, development, and research."

FY97 Federal Budget Signed

Bypassing the drawn out struggle over the federal budget that resulted in last year's shut downs of the federal government, the Congress and President reached agreement on the FY97 federal budget earlier this month. While federal cooperative technology programs at the National Science Foundation (NSF) received the full amount the President requested, programs at the Department of Commerce encountered significant challenges.