• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

Eight Scientists and Engineers Garner National Medals of Science

October 31, 2003

Eight of the nation's leading scientists and engineers were named on Oct. 22 recipients of the 2002 National Medal of Science — the nation's highest honor for researchers who make major impacts in fields of science and engineering. Administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) for the White House, the medal recognizes career-long, ground-breaking achievements and contributions to innovation, industry or education.

James Darnell of Rockefeller University and Evelyn Witkin of Rutgers University were among those who received the medal for their advances in scientific theory and developments. Darnell discovered RNA processing, while Witkin confirmed the notion of DNA repair.

Leo Beranek of Cambridge, Mass., a retired leader in acoustical science for the military and the arts, received the medal for engineering.

James Glimm of Stony Brook University was honored for his work in shock wave theory and other cross-disciplinary fields in mathematical physics.

John Brauman of Stanford University received the award for chemistry. Three other honorees in the physical sciences include W. Jason Morgan of Princeton University, Richard Garwin at the Council on Foreign Relations in New York City, and Edward Witten of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, N.J.

Recipients of both the National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology will be honored at a White House ceremony on Nov. 6. More information on the two prestigious award programs, as well as the Medal of Science recipients, is available through NSF's press release: http://www.nsf.gov/od/lpa/news/03/pr03121.htm