• Join your peers at SSTI's 2024 Annual Conference!

    Join us December 10-12 in Arizona to connect with and learn from your peers working around the country to strengthen their regional innovation economies. Visit ssticonference.org for more information and to register today.

  • Become an SSTI Member

    As the most comprehensive resource available for those involved in technology-based economic development, SSTI offers the services that are needed to help build tech-based economies.  Learn more about membership...

  • Subscribe to the SSTI Weekly Digest

    Each week, the SSTI Weekly Digest delivers the latest breaking news and expert analysis of critical issues affecting the tech-based economic development community. Subscribe today!

Three Nominated to the National Science Board

August 09, 1996

President Clinton announced his intention to nominate three members to the National Science Board (NSB), an advisory body to the National Science Foundation. The three are:

Mary K. Gaillard of Berkeley, California, a professor of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley, and a faculty senior scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Eamon M. Kelly of New Orleans, Louisiana, president of Tulane University. Dr. Kelly is an economist and the former chairman of the Association of American Universities.

Richard A. Tapia of Houston, Texas, is the Noah Harding Professor of Computational and Applied Mathematics at Rice University. He formerly served on the National Board of Directors of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Sciences.

The National Science Board recommends overall national policies for promoting basic research and education in the sciences to the National Science Foundation.

The Board was established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950 and has 24 members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. Members serve six-year rotating terms and eight members are appointed every two years. NSB members are drawn from industry and universities, and represent a variety of science and engineering disciplines. They are selected for their distinguished service in research, education or public service.